Université du Québec en OutaouaisNouvelles de technologies de la répartition


Appel à publication
Dates importantes
Soumission d'articles
L'UQO et sa région

Conférencier invité

Nicolas D. Georganas
FRSC, Distinguished University Professor and Associate Vice-President, Research (External), University of Ottawa


Distributed and Collaborative Virtual Environments: Applications, Standards and Performance Issues


Distributed and Collaborative Virtual Environments (CVE) are Virtual Reality simulations running over several computer systems connected via a network and performing some collaborative task. In this talk, several CVE-related issues will be discussed and pertinent middleware standards for CVEs (DIS, SPLINE, HLA...) will be reviewed. Applications, ranging from telemedicine to defense training simulations to collaborative e-commerce, will be presented. The performance of some applications over the various middleware standards and some prototype systems will finally be discussed.

Note: La présentation sera faite en français


Prof. Georganas received the Dipl.Ing. degree in Electrical  Engineering from the National Technical University of Athens, Greece, in 1966 and the Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering (Summa cum Laude ) from the University of Ottawa in 1970.

Since 1970, he has been a faculty member in first the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering and then SITE, University of Ottawa, and served as Chairman of the former from 1981 to 1984. In 1986, he was appointed Founding Dean of the Faculty of Engineering and served a seven year term. On sabbatical leaves, he spent 1977-78 with the IBM Centre d'Etudes et Recherche, La Gaude, France, 1984-85 with BULL-Transac and INRIA in Paris, France, 1993-94 with BNR  (now NORTEL Networks) and 1997 with CRC in Ottawa. During 1985-86, he served as Chairman of the Electrical Engineering Grants Selection Committee of the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada.

He has published over 320 technical papers and is co-author of the book "Queueing Networks- Exact Computational Algorithms: A Unified Theory by Decomposition and Aggregation", MIT Press, 1989.- He has received research grants and contracts totaling more than $50 million and has supervised more than 165 researchers, among which 90 graduate students (25 PhD, 62 Master's), 18 Post-doctoral Fellows and 16 research engineers .

He was General Chair of the the ACM Multimedia 2001 (Ottawa, Sept. 2001), the IEEE International Conference on Multimedia Computing and Systems (ICMCS’97) (Ottawa, June 1997) and Co-Chair of the Canadian Conference of Electrical and Computer Engineering (Ottawa, September 1990). He has served as Guest Editor of the IEEE Journal on Selected Areas in Communications, issues on "Multimedia Communications" (April 1990) and on "Synchronization Isssues in Multimedia Communications" (1995) and as Technical Program Chairman of MULTIMEDIA'89, the 2nd IEEE COMSOC  International Multimedia Communications Workshop (Montebello, Canada, April 1989) and of the ICCC Multimedia Communications'93 Conference in Banff, Alberta, Canada. He is in the Editorial Boards of the Journals  ACM/ Springer Verlag Multimedia Systems, ACM Computing Surveys, Performance Evaluation, Computer Networks, Computer Communications , Multimedia Tools and Applications  and was an editor of the IEEE Multimedia Magazine. He was one of the founders and project leaders of the Telecommunications Research Institute of Ontario (TRIO) [now called CITO], a Centre of Excellence. He is also a project leader in the Canadian Institute for Telecommunications Research (CITR), and the Tele-Learning NCE, two federal Networks of Centres of Excellence. His current research interests are Collaborative Virtual Environments, Multimedia Communication Systems, Intelligent Internet Appliances and Performance Evaluation of Multimedia Applications over Broadband Networks and the Internet.

In 1990, he was elected Fellow of IEEE for "leadership in university-industry research in, and performance evaluation of, multimedia communication networks and systems". Since 1993, he serves in the Board of Governors of the International Council on Computer Communications. In 1994, he was elected Fellow of the Engineering Institute of Canada. In 1995, he was co-recipient of the IEEE INFOCOM'95 Prize Paper Award. In 1997, he was inducted as Fellow in the Canadian Academy of Engineering and Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada. In 1998, he was selected as the University of Ottawa Researcher of the Year and also received the University 150th Anniversary  Medal for Research. In 1999, he was awarded the Thomas W. Eadie Medal of the Royal Society of Canada, funded by Bell Canada, for his contributions to Canadian and International telecommunications. In 2000, he received the A.G.L. McNaughton Gold Medal and Award for 1999-2000, the highest distinction of IEEE Canada;  the Julian C. Smith Medal of the Engineering Institute of Canada for 1999-2000, "in recognition of outstanding achievements in the development of Canada";  the OCRI President's Award (jointly with Dean Samy Mahmoud) for the creation of the National Capital Institute of Telecommunications (NCIT); the Bell Canada Forum Award from the Corporate-Higher Education Forum, the  Researcher Achievement Award, from the TeleLearning Network of Centres of Excellence and a Canada Research Chair in Information Technology. In 2001, he was appointed Distinguished University Professor of the University of Ottawa and he was also received  the Order of Ontario, the province's highest and most prestigious honour.I n 2002, he received the Killam Prize for Engineering, Canada's most distinguished award for outstanding career achievements.
He is a registered professional engineer in Ontario and is listed in Who's Who in the World, Who'sWho in America, Who'sWho in  the East, American Men and Women of Science, Who's Who in Science and Engineering, Dictionary of International Biography, Canadian Who'sWho,  Who'sWho in Canadian Engineering and Hellenic Who'sWho.

(Biographie détaillée en format PDF)


Copyright © 2005 NOTERE'2005
Dernière modification : 2 août 2005